You don’t ever know how change will impact you until it does!

It’s no secret that the whole reason I am working towards the biggest change in my career to date is due to a restructure of the HR function in my current employment.  I didn’t actively go looking for this!  That change means that my role is redundant and I think I am due to leave in January 2018 sometime.  I have now known about this for 3 months. There are positives and negatives knowing that change is coming for such a long time. For me, although I am finding this hard I think I prefer the amount of notice. It is giving me time to get my head around things and to plan for what I hope will be a wildly successful next chapter in my life!  For others I know that the amount of notice seems or would seem painful and unnecessary, but that just goes to show how we all deal with change so very differently and there is no wrong or right response.  Nobody can tell you that you are coping in the right or wrong way.
As a HR professional I am all too familiar with the change curve!  I was ready for the announcement; I knew change was coming, I was going to be cool with this, I was ready, hit me with it….and then the announcement happened and I was firmly in shocked mode…stunned in fact.  I am not ashamed to say I cried, what on earth do you mean?! How can you do this to me?!
 img_1183-1
I am writing about the impact of change this week because it has already affected me in many ways.  It seems relevant and timely because over these last 12  weeks many people have commented on my upbeat approach and  positive outlook throughout.  I wouldn’t disagree on the whole but that doesn’t mean I am not faced with a  range of emotions daily.  I am not unaffected but I am just choosing to channel my emotions in as positive a way I can.  Those close to me though will have seen me cry, get excited, have a rage and get focussed. I’m not selective with my emotions!        
                                                               
I have moved from the top of the curve to the bottom and back up the other side like a pendulum.  My most common feelings right now go from fear through to commitment and back again, I teeter between them all but the most common ones are fear, anger, hope and enthusiasm.  Inside I bobble about between them like a rollercoaster but on the outside I try to appear and portray a constant sense of confidence, hope, enthusiasm and commitment.  Not because I don’t want people to know how I feel but because it helps me personally get back to the place I want and need to be.  I can’t make Sparkle HR a success if I stay in anger mode and neither do I want to feel that way.   Feeling utterly hacked off that this change is happening isn’t going to help me move forward is it?  If anything those feelings stifle your potential awesomeness.  At the end of the day it is happening, I can’t change that and that kick has pushed me to make the most exciting career decision of my life to date.  For that I am grateful.  I am also grateful that my employer is supporting me in many ways to have a smooth transition to a new life, it definitely helps and is something I appreciate.  Let’s not gloss over the fact though that I do still feel angry with “them” at times, I wouldn’t choose to go….why would I? I have had a great career.  I love the business I work in.  After a conversation with a friend recently we summarised this feeling – my head has accepted the change and moved on but my heart is still caching up.  I am sure my heart will still be catching up on the day I leave.  I have many fulfilling happy years behind me after all.
From a professional perspective, going through this experience has given me a better insight and a deeper understanding regarding how successful change can be implemented.  I have examples of things I would replicate time and time again and things I would not.  The importance of human interaction and a genuine care is key, process is obviously important but don’t let that detract from being human. 
My final thought is this, I am feeling positive, why wouldn’t I be?  I have a new chapter to look forward to and lots of support to make this happen.  I know I will continue to bobble about the change curve and you know what?  That is entirely ok!
Don’t be afraid of change, be afraid of staying the same – Carrie Green FEA
Love Laura x
Author: lauramoughton

I support businesses to achieve an outstanding employee experience that delivers results for the business by offering outsourced HR services. I have 17 years experience operating in the UK's leading department store with a strong commercial skill set which enables a link to be established between the employee agenda and business aims. I am motivated by challenge and supporting the commercial success of the business through people. Lauramoughton@sparklehr.co.uk 07894435423

Leave a Reply

