Stepping up

 

I am an over thinker. I actually think many of us are guilty of that but in my experience women are worst at it! We analyse everything; what did she mean by that? Why did I say that? What do they think of me? If I do that, this might happen. The list really does go on. 

The truth is, we anticipate futures that simply may never happen and that in turn makes the thing too big and scary to contemplate and then you hesitate and that hesitation stops you from achieving your potential. I’m writing about this this week because I have been putting the business plan together for Sparkle HR.  In truth I have been putting this off for weeks. Of course I know in my head what it is I’m doing and let’s be honest that’s the fun bit. But making myself get detailed, and focus on things new and terrifying its not always as fun. It’s not always fun because I often don’t initially know the way forward or how to do something but burying my head in the sand or skipping forward 6 steps and panicking about what might happen doesn’t help either! 

Each time I’ve started to focus on my plan this week I have ended up going into overthinking mode. I have had to tell myself to stop. Focus on the now. In order to make Sparkle a success I need my business plan. In order to get to the detail and build a plan of actions and a timeline I need my business plan. Therefore to allow myself to do this I have to stop racing ahead. That’s hard. So many ideas and anticipation in my mind.  I saw a Ted talk this week which suggests that defining your fears instead of your goals can be more important for progression as we suffer more often in imagination than in reality. A sentiment I am going to hold close over the coming months. 

I also have to learn to become comfortable with not being in control. I would say I’m coping better now than I was in January. Would I say I’m entirely there yet? Hell no! I am getting better though, that’s progress right?! I’ve mentioned in a previous blog about utilising your friends; again, at times I am good at this but at other times (and usually when I’m in the grip) I sit stressing and worrying. I have a ton of brainy, talented, amazing and creative people in my life and I need to become better at speaking up and not trying to do it all alone. 

My goal for the next week is to complete my first draft business plan in order to focus on this during my coaching. Once I am happy with what I have I can get back to the exciting stuff! 

The way to get started is to quit talking and begin doing – Walt Disney 

Love Laura x

Author: lauramoughton

I support businesses to achieve an outstanding employee experience that delivers results for the business by offering outsourced HR services. I have 17 years experience operating in the UK's leading department store with a strong commercial skill set which enables a link to be established between the employee agenda and business aims. I am motivated by challenge and supporting the commercial success of the business through people. Lauramoughton@sparklehr.co.uk 07894435423

Leave a Reply

