Being vulnerable – it’s a gift 


Over the years I’ve learned to become comfortable and at ease with allowing myself to be vulnerable. The more I’ve done it the more I’ve realised that this is actually a massive strength. Nothing bad has ever happened to me by being vulnerable. In fact the opposite. Great things usually come from it. 

So what do I mean? I’m happy to hold my hands up and say I don’t know, I’m happy to ask others for help when I need it and I’m comfortable with recognising when I could have been better.  I’m also happy to work my hardest to learn, to fill the gap and to be the best I can.  The quicker you accept that not one person knows it all and that nobody expects you to either, the quicker you allow yourself the freedom to progress. 

You see, I know there’s lots I’m great at and I know others recognise that in me too. Therefore I’m happy to share my challenges and the reason for that is simple, nobody likes a smart arse! Not really. I have learned so much from people by allowing myself the freedom to not pretend, to ask when I need it and to give myself time to think. 

You know I told you last week that I have recently completed my CIPD, well this is a great example actually.  I was happy to share with others whilst I was going through the process that I found it tough along the way.  I rang people to vent, cry, you name it. When I needed an outlet, I found one.  As a result of that more than a handful of my colleagues who are going through the same thing have subsequently reached out to me when they’ve felt the same way.  I’ve been able to support them. It’s infectious. It creates a safe space, and guess what, one by one we are all finding out that we have nailed this.  We could have all pretended this was a breeze – after all we have all been in the profession for half of our lives. Instead, the power of vulnerability has united us, great things are being achieved and I’m proud to be a part of such a successful team, I will miss this when I leave. 

To finish off this week I just want to share with you a few things.   I’ve had a good week and I feel back on track. I’ve made progress in a few areas with my business and that feels good.  My branding is finalised and I’m starting to consider my website.  Sparkle HR is becoming a reality day by day. There is still some key items on my to do list that I am yet to achieve and I keep beating myself up about this but they are now at the top of the list.  I had my third coaching session this evening with Lisa Jelly. We focussed specifically on my priorities and business planning. I am now clear of the coming weeks and what I need to achieve and Lisa and I we will be focusing on this together. 

If anyone is wanting a coach I would highly recommend her. She helps me gain clarity and calmness. In the spirit of being vulnerable I was all over the place in our meeting today and she helped me re – focus on the strategy.  I needed that.   We meet via Zoom for 90mins at a time. She offers a free 45 minute discovery call with no obligation to anyone interested. What have you got to lose?

Things in my personal life feel good at the moment too and all of that makes for a content me. 

This week I’m happy to say that I’ve achieved some great things but I’m also happy to admit that there’s been moments of  “how on earth do I do this?!” One step at a time, that’s how. 

Vulnerability is not about weakness, it’s about showing up and being seen – Dr Brené Brown 

Love Laura x

Author: lauramoughton

I support businesses to achieve an outstanding employee experience that delivers results for the business by offering outsourced HR services. I have 17 years experience operating with the UK's leading retailer I have a strong commercial skill set which enables a link to be established between the employee agenda and business aims. I am motivated by challenge and supporting the commercial success of the business through people. Lauramoughton@sparklehr.co.uk 07894435423

Leave a Reply

